the beginning.

I suppose the only way to start something you hope to make brilliant is to actually begin. I have been dancing around the idea of a blog since 2008 when I took my first Art History course in college. I was being overstimulated with images, concepts and ultimately inspiration, and my writing assignments weren’t satisfying my thirst for expression.

So today is the day when I begin this writing adventure. Not to say that there haven’t been predecessors to erikagalan.wordpress.com. There have been two, to be exact. My first blog was born that Spring in 2008 but was sadly short-lived– school and work got in the way. My second attempt was erikagalan.tumblr.com which is still open now (I hope to spruce it up a bit). Tumblr, while great, sums up to a series of images, left unexplored and undiscovered.

That is not what this is. This is a site for cause and effect, thoughts on art and fashion.

I suppose I should share the epiphany that  brought this very first blog post about. It was “Bring Your Child to Work Day” at the office and I met one of my co-workers daughters. She seemed comfortable enough, so as her father was talking budget I took the opportunity to make her feel welcome and asked her what her favorite subject in school was. She paused for a short moment and said, with the first real smile I had seen from her, “writing.” She’s nine. I was immediately smacked in the face by my previous self. I love to write. I have always loved writing. How could I forget this so soon? It has only been a year since I completed my thesis, a mere four months since I earned my degree. Writing has always been a part of my life.

My nine year old self was obsessed with writing and fashion. Just as my 12 year old self was, and my 15 year old self was. I evolved slightly when I turned 19 as I discovered art. So now I sit before you, my future readers, a revolutionized version of who I was born: a lover of art, fashion and writing.

I hope only to intrigue you. To make you think differently about art and fashion and ultimately to affect you so that you can cause an epiphany for someone else who may need it.

