artistic associations.

I came across the photograph above a couple of days ago and it made my heart flutter. Something inside me clicked and all of a sudden I was sitting in my Women of Latin American Art class gazing at a painting by Diego Rivera and listening to my professor explain his relationship with Frida. Rivera’s painting, The Flower Seller, is below. I love when these accidental artistic associations occur; they ground me somehow.

I do not particularly like Diego Rivera’s paintings or murals. I think my Professor may have painted an all-too-vivid portrait of his tumultuous relationship with Frida (and us girls have to stick together). However, today will just be about the associations and their wonderful grounding effects. <3<3<3<3<3

Photograph: Sea of Shoes Painting: Diego Rivera, The Flower Seller 1942

